ROWAN MEN’S TRACK & FIELD TO COMPETE IN NORTH CAROLINA NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS
Rowan Baseball Begins Quest for NCAA Division III Title; First Game Thursday 11AM

"Gathering Strength Through Adversity: A Conversation with Commissioner Danielle Outlaw"

(Philadelphia PD, PA) 

Hosted by the USDOJ International Criminal Investigative Training Assistance Program (ICITAP)
Police Development Advisory Council (IPDAC) 

Webinar 

Thurs, May 27, 2021

9:00AM (Washington, DC and Philadelphia, PA time)

(International time zones included below)

Webex link: 

” This is the eighth in ICITAP’s webinar series, which focuses on law enforcement leadership and police reform in the United States.  

With introductory remarks from (and moderation by) ICITAP Women’s Leadership and Empowerment Advisor Lynn Holland, this one-hour webinar will feature Commissioner Danielle Outlaw, who will share her experience serving and leading law enforcement communities in Oakland, Portland, and Philadelphia. Commissioner Outlaw will describe a number of defining moments in her career, which have helped inspire critical conversations about racial justice and police reform both within her department as well as with the people she has taken an oath to protect. 

 
 

Philadelphia Police Commissioner, Danielle M. Outlaw, is an experienced and respected law enforcement leader. She stands at the helm of the nation’s 4th largest police department, which employs more than 6500 sworn officers and 800 civilians who work to help make Philadelphia a safer city. Commissioner Outlaw is the first African-American woman to lead the Philadelphia Police Department. A believer in the power of connectivity and continued learning, she meets people where they are, engages critics and contributes nationally and internationally to ensure the Department’s narratives are accurately told, and to benchmark against other organizations to ensure best practices in contemporary policing here.  Her overarching community safety goals are rooted in crime prevention and reduction, organizational excellence and community engagement and inclusion. 

Commissioner Outlaw’s TEDx Talk – Humanity In Authority – dispels the belief that the two concepts are contrary in nature and explains how the two concepts can, and should, co-exist. She has also presented on various topics including Race and Policing, Women in Law Enforcement, De-escalation and Investigation of Use of Force, Building Community Relationships after Controversy, and Video Recording in Policing and Early Intervention Systems. She has been asked to provide technical assistance in areas of police accountability and risk management.  

Prior to taking the helm as Philadelphia’s top law enforcement officer, Outlaw was the Chief of Portland, Oregon’s Bureau of Police. She was the first African American woman to hold that post. Commissioner Outlaw began her law enforcement career in Oakland, California where she spent 20 years in service with the Oakland Police Department.  The Oakland, CA native has received numerous awards, including the Police Executive Research Forum (PERF) Gary P. Hayes Award, the Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare Culture of Caring Award for Community Relations and Civic Engagement, and has been honored as a 2019 Marie Lamfrom Woman of Distinction by the Girl Scouts of Oregon and Southwest Washington.  

Commissioner Outlaw earned a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from the University of San Francisco and a Master of Business Administration from Pepperdine University. She is also a graduate of the Police Executive Research Forum Senior Management Institute of Police, the Major Cities Chiefs’ Association Police Executive Leadership Institute and the FBI National Executive Institute. Commissioner Outlaw is a member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police Human and Civil Rights Committee and is also an active member of the National Organization of Black Law Executives. She continues to demonstrate her civic advocacy through Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated and The Links, Incorporated. 



Lynn Holland serves as the ICITAP Women’s Leadership and Empowering Multinational Police Women on Equality and Rights (EMPOWER) Advisor (PAE Contractor). Over the course of her domestic and international law enforcement career, Lynn has played a critical role in establishing standards of equity and greater inclusion for women in law enforcement. Lynn was chosen as the first female officer from the U.S. to attend specialized training at the Metropolitan Police (Met), New Scotland Yard, after building a distinguished law enforcement leadership career as a city, county, and state officer in Oklahoma and Texas. 

Lynn became the first woman to serve on the executive management team for ICITAP for the Haitian National Police Initiative. She led the transformation of the Haitian National Police in training design, organizational development, as well as workforce diversification by designing sustained mainstreaming of the first women Haitian National Police officers. 

Her international experience includes leading the Bosnian program development to assist women and men victimized by rape as an “act of war.” She was also selected to serve as a human rights investigator on an elite law enforcement entry team into Kosovo where she pursued high profile cases of massacres, kidnappings, assassinations, and torture of adults and children in the Balkans. Her investigative accomplishments led to the indictment of Slobodan Milosevic. Lynn was instrumental in creating the post-conflict Kosovo Police Academy.  

She is recognized as a security sector reform subject matter expert by the United Nations and the United States Institute of Peace. She serves on leadership positions with sections, committees and boards at the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), the National Organizations of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE), the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement Standards and Training (IADLEST) and the International Stability Operations Association (ISOA) . She earned her master’s degree as a Bush Fellow at the George H. W. Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University. 

  • USDOJ ICITAP’s Police Development Advisory Council (IPDAC), which was first announced as “The Steering Group” at the June 25, 2020 ICITAP Global Town, has convened a couple dozen times to carry out its three core objectives of: 1) Assessing ICITAP’s curricula and mentorship approaches; 2) Liaising with relevant US and international organizations; and 3) Studying ongoing domestic discussions and reform efforts. 

Please join us on Thursday, May 27 at 9 AM (DC time) for this important event via Webex: https://doj-crm.webex.com/doj-crm/onstage/g.php?MTID=e9d1480e5ee268d54b6530305a41f00fc

 

OTHER TIME ZONES: 

06:00AM California (PDT) 

07:00AM Colorado (MDT) 

08:00AM Illinois (CDT) 

09:00AM Washington, DC (EDT) 

10:00AM Brasilia 

01:00PM Bamako 

02:00PM London 

03:00PM Belgrade 

04:00PM Kyiv 

05:00PM Yerevan 

06:00PM Islamabad 

07:00PM Dhaka 

08:00PM New Delhi 

08:00PM Jakarta 

09:00PM Manila 
 

Comments