FILA Introduces New PLR and 30 Love Tennis Collections for Indian Wells/Miami
Use of Bonuses in Gaming Online

Lawsuit Names Tiger Woods, Caddie after spectator goes to ER

...following Incident at Tampa Bay Tournament, witnesses sought


ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – An attorney for a man who was allegedly intentionally shoved by Tiger Woods’s caddie during the 2018 Valspar Tournament is asking the public for

Screen Shot 2020-04-08 at 19.54.07

help in finding out whose voices are on a video, which appears to capture a portion of the incident.

“We’re asking anyone who was there to contact us and let us know if you saw the incident, if you know whose voices are on the video and if you may have video or pictures of the incident,” said Josh Drechsel, principal at Josh Firm, a St. Petersburg-based law firm specializing in personal injury, and the attorney representing the victim. “Unfortunately, the PGA has refused to cooperate, even though we are confident they have the incident on video.”

According to a complaint filed in the Sixth Judicial Circuit Court in Pinellas County, Florida on Tuesday, Joseph Lacava, who is Tiger Woods’s caddie, and Eldrick “Tiger” Woods, are being sued for damages in excess of $30,000 dollars, after Brian Borruso claims he was attacked by Lacava on March 10 during the 2018 Valspar Golf Tournament at Innisbrook.

Borruso, who is a resident of Pasco County, was attending the tournament as a spectator and was standing near the 13th green with other spectators, when a ball hit by Woods entered the spectator area. As Woods approached the ball, Borruso turned around to attempt to take a selfie with Woods in the shot, but as he was doing so, Lacava allegedly shoved Borruso into other spectators causing injury, the complaint alleges.

According to the complaint, Borruso went to the hospital due to his injuries.

Woods was named in the suit because Lacava was employed, managed or directed by Woods.

Additionally, Rule 10.3 of the USGA Rules of Golf says, “A player is responsible for his or her caddie’s actions both during a round and while play is stopped under 5.7a, but not before or after a round.” 

“Regardless of celebrity status, no one has the right to violate the well-known safety rule of keeping your hands to yourself,” Drechsel said. “It’s not right for anyone to do that, and we believe there is evidence out there that will help prove our case.”

Anyone with information is requested to contact