Reminder for the week: Hunting guides require guide license
DOVER (Jan. 10, 2020) – To achieve public compliance with laws and regulations through education and enforcement actions that help conserve Delaware’s fish and wildlife resources and ensure safe boating and public safety, DNREC’s Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers between Dec. 30 – Jan. 5 made 1,169 contacts with hunters, anglers, boaters, and the general public, issuing 23 citations. Officers responded to 48 complaints regarding possible violations of laws and regulations or requests to assist the public. A Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police presence continued at the C&D Canal Conservation Area and Michael N. Castle Trail.
Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police Actions
- On Jan. 4, Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers arrested Zachary Dittmar, 35, of Felton, for one count each of hunting antlered deer during closed shotgun season, failure to purchase a hunter choice tag prior to killing an antlered deer, failure to tag antlered deer, and failure to consume or utilize game animal near Harrington. Dittmar was arraigned through Kent County Justice of the Peace Court 7 and released on his own recognizance, pending a future court appearance.
Citations issued by category, with the number of charges in parentheses, included:
Wildlife Conservation: Hunting antlered deer during closed shotgun season (1), failure to purchase a hunter choice tag prior to killing an antlered deer (1), failure to tag antlered deer (1), failure to consume or utilize game animal (1), failure to check antlerless deer within 24 hours (1), removing antlerless deer parts prior to checking (1), failure to tag antlerless deer (1), failure to display required hunter orange during a firearms deer season (1), providing hunting guide services without a guide license (1), trespass to hunt (1), and hunting migratory waterfowl without required HIP number (1).
Boating & Boating Safety: No fire extinguisher on board (1).
Public Safety: Operating a motor vehicle without proof of insurance (1), and possession of marijuana – civil (1).
Other: Trespassing after hours on a state wildlife area (4), trespassing after hours on a state forest (1), license forgery (1), operating an unregistered motor vehicle (1), andoperating a motor vehicle off an established roadway on a state wildlife area (2).
DNREC’s Division of Fish & Wildlife recognizes and thanks the majority of anglers, hunters, and boaters who comply with and support Delaware’s fishing, hunting, and boating laws and regulations. The Public are encouraged to report fish, wildlife, and boating violations to the Delaware Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police by calling 302-739-4580 or through the DENRP Tip app on a smartphone, which can be downloaded free of charge by searching “DENRP Tip” via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store. Wildlife violations may also be reported anonymously to Operation Game Theft by calling 800-292-3030, going online to http://de.gov/ogt, or using the DENRP Tip app. Verizon customers can connect to Operation Game Theft directly by dialing #OGT.
Are you AWARE?
All individuals receiving a monetary fee or other compensation for providing personal hunting guide services to hunters are required to have a Delaware hunting guide license. Hunting guide license holders must be 18 years of age or older. Persons acquiring a hunting guide license must not have been convicted of any wildlife or fisheries violations within the last three years prior to applying for the license.
All persons possessing a Delaware hunting guide license are required to complete and submit an annual report to the Division within seven days after the close of the hunting season to include the following information, which must be readily available for inspection by Fish & Wildlife Natural Resources Police officers: full name of each hunter; address of each hunter in the party; hunting license number for each hunter; date, number, and species of each animal harvested; location of hunts; and the name and license number of the guide. The guide must retain hunting field records for three years.