52 Police Officers Join Camden County Police Dept.
Fingerprints of an invisible, restricted horseracing therapy

Avalon Honors Employees, Municipal Engineer

for Contributions and Achievements



Avalon Mayor Martin Pagliughi and Borough Council honored employees who achieved milestones in longevity of service benchmarks during the Wednesday, December 18th Borough Council meeting.  Mayor and Council also presented a special proclamation to Municipal Engineer Tom Thornton of Mott MacDonald for achieving the distinction of 2019 Engineer of the Year from the New Jersey Society of Municipal Engineers.

“We are proud of the dedication of service our employees provide to the community that truly makes Avalon one of the best communities in New Jersey”, said Avalon Mayor Martin Pagliughi.  “We are also proud of Tom’s efforts as he and his team have been very valuable contributors to our capital and resiliency projects in Avalon”.

The following employees have been recognized with Certificates of Achievement for their service to Avalon:

35 years:  Arthur Ridler, Murray Wolf

30 years:  Ernest Blood, Cynthia Dandridge, Council President Dr. Nancy Hudanich, Kimberly Mastriana

25 years:  Kevin Scarpa, Kathleen Seliger, Kevin Scarpa

20 years:  Stephen Camp, Jeffrey Christopher, Richard E. Dean, Sr., Michael Dean, Tracey Eppright

15 years:  Alexis Coan, Michelle Devine

10 years:  Stephen Bowers, Robert Hampf, Nicholas Jefferes, Nathan Morey, William Robinson III, Zachary Saduk, Michael Scythes

5 years:  Gregory Armstrong, Michelle Auxer, Daniel Berglund, Brenda Camp, Brandon Cooper, Travis Cooper, Anthony Decesero Jr, James Waldron

Thornton achieved his individual honor during a meeting of the New Jersey League of Municipalities in Atlantic City on November 20th.  He has served as Avalon’s municipal engineer since 2002 and has a leadership position on Avalon’s Floodplain Management Committee.  Engineer Jeff Betz and Thornton were instrumental in the engineering services that produced Avalon’s popular Surfside Park, which received an award at the same meeting.  That project was designed by Taylor Design Group of Mt. Laurel, NJ.