CNB Spotlight on College Students from NJ
HSI: Dating Scheme Participants Charged

Kutztown U Celebrates 50 Seasons of Field Hockey

  Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 20.6.22CNBNews graphics file

KUTZTOWN, PA (11/06/2018) As part of its home game on Saturday, Oct. 20, Kutztown University celebrated 50 Seasons of Field Hockey with on-field recognitions of head coaches, its All-Time Team and the entire field hockey alumnae body in attendance. KU also hosted a post-game reception afterward.



Alumni Recognition

Nearly 100 KU field hockey alumnae were in attendance and were recognized as a whole for their accomplishments. Alumnae were welcomed by decade and All-Decade players were recognized (full listing of All-Decade players). Highlights by decade include:

  • 1960s to 1970s: won a combined 56 games, which includes a streak of six straight winning seasons from 1971-76. KU had one of its best seasons in program history in 1976, compiling a 12-1 record.
  • 1980s: won a total of 101 games, holding a winning record for eight straight seasons from 1982-89. KU made its first NCAA Tournament appearance in 1982 and then returned to the postseason in both 1983 and 1988, advancing to the second round twice.
  • 1990s: notched 103 wins, posting double-digit win totals six times. Kutztown made back-to-back PSAC semifinal appearances in 1997 and 1998 and advanced to the national championship game in 1997.
  • 2000s: won 113 total games, compiling a .570 win percentage. The Maroon and Gold made it to five PSAC semifinals during this time and appeared in the NCAA Tournament in 2007. KU also achieved its highest-ever national ranking in 2007, ranked No. 1 in the country.
  • 2010s: Winners of 80 games and counting, this group posted six winning seasons, including three straight from 2014-17. In 2015, Kutztown hosted its first-ever PSAC home playoff game and ranked #1 in the country in Team GPA.

All-Time Head Coaches Recognition

Kutztown University has had four head coaches in its 50-year history of the program - all of whom were in attendance.

  • Carol Teske (1969-72): coached for four seasons at Kutztown from 1969-72. Teske laid the groundwork for the program in her first two years and then went 12-1-5 over her last two seasons.
  • Mary Hill (1973-79): coached for seven years at KU from 1973-79. Hill's .582 win percentage is the best among Kutztown coaches as she notched four-straight winning seasons from 1973-76. Hill's 12-1 season in 1976 boasted a program-record .923 win percentage. Hill guided five KU Athletics Hall of Famers and was inducted herself in 2016.
  • Betty Wesner (1980-2012): the longest-tenured coach in school history, coached for 33 seasons at KU. Under Wesner, Kutztown won 344 games and appeared in the NCAA Tournament five times. A 2018 KU Hall of Fame inductee, she coached a total of 32 All-Americans and 10 members of the KU Athletics Hall of Fame.
  • Marci Schueing (2013-Present): has been at the helm since 2013. In her six seasons, KU has won 62 games and posted winning seasons in each of the past four years. Scheuing has had at least one All-American in each of her five seasons, coaching a combined eight All-Americans.

All-Time Team Recognition

18 players were named to the team, spanning from 1973 to 2015. Making up the team are eight forwards, four midfielders, four defenders and two goalkeepers. 12-of-18 honorees are KU Hall of Famers. All-Decade players were placed on the ballot for the All-Time Team, and a selection committee of Golden Bear field hockey historical experts selected the All-Time Kutztown University Field Hockey team. Full Listing of All-Time Team members.

Post-Game Reception

Following KU's game, a 3-1 victory over Slippery Rock, the university held a post-game reception including a luncheon and a formal program, honoring the history of KU field hockey. Speakers included Dr. Kenneth S. Hawkinson, university president, Marci Scheuing, current head coach, Mr. and Mrs. Michael Rush, alumane and supporters of KU field hockey, Hall of Fame inductee Betty G. Wesner, and Greg Bamberger, director of athletics.

KU awarded each of its 18 All-Time Team members (17 of whom were in attendance), and closed the program with the induction of Coach Wesner into the KU Athletics Hall of Fame.

View Online: