One of The Four Accused New Jersey Priests Served in the South Jersey Region
Retired New Jersey State Trooper Joseph G. Vespe, Sr. of Stratford Succumbs at Age 88

Hopewell Theater Celebrates First Year Anniversary in September

 

 

HOPEWELL, NJ (August 8, 2018) -- The landmark 180-seat Hopewell Theater re-opened in September 2017 after an extensive renovation, and over the past year it has succeeded in becoming the area’s most intimate dine-in arts venue, with selectively eclectic live music, films, talks, and gourmet pop-up supper clubs.

Hopewell Theater will celebrate its one-year anniversary with a concert featuring locally based and internationally known, Paul Muldoon and Rogue Oliphant on Saturday, Sept. 8 at 8:00 p.m.  Rogue Oliphant will feature Irish Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Paul Muldoon, supported by musicians from noteworthy indie bands in their own right: Cait O’Riordan (The Pogues), Warren Zanes (The Del Fuegos), Sim Cain (Rollins Band), David Mansfield (Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Review, The Alpha Band), and Chris Harford (The Band of Changes).  Rogue Oliphant will present a captivating performance of songs and spoken word pieces. 

Over the past year, Hopewell Theater has made its mark as a deluxe showcase for the arts, presenting a roster of live music from nationally known folk, rock and jazz groups as well as locally-loved smaller acts.  HT has also featured the best in indie cinema, some accompanied by live music, talks or meet-the-filmmaker events. Starting with opening night in 2017, featuring a sold-out performance by Bovine Social Club, the theater has gradually added to its entertainment offerings with pop-up supper clubs catered by beloved restaurants like The Peasant Grill and Siam Restaurant.
 
“In just one year, we have accomplished our mission of bringing a wide range of artists and audiences to our inviting sanctuary to enjoy the arts,” says Sara Scully, executive director, Hopewell Theater. “The theater is a welcoming place to experience unique programming, and we have formed partnerships with the area makers to support local arts, commerce and community.”

The theater looks forward in 2018-2019 to expanding its live theater with a roster of comedy shows from stand-up to storytelling nights.  Additionally, Hopewell Theater will be offering live gypsy jazz brunches with Max Hansen catering on Sundays, and family film matinees as well as Crybaby matinees for Moms and babies - toddlers.  The theater will also celebrate Halloween with a week of frightening films for the holiday.

Hopewell Theater was one of the outstanding projects recently honored with a New Good Neighbor Award from the New Jersey Business and Industry Association for improving New Jersey’s economy and landscape. The awards recognize the visionary architects, builders and financing professionals who turned exciting ideas into reality. 

The Hopewell Theater is located at 5 South Greenwood Avenue in Hopewell, New Jersey and online at www.HopewellTheater.com

Coming to the Hopewell Theater:

Music

Don Flemons on Weds., Aug. 8

Dharmasoul on Sat., Aug. 11

Billy Walton Band with Joe D’ Angelo on Sat., Aug. 18

Dawn Landes with Eliza Edens on Sat., Aug. 25

Wayne “The Train” Hancock on Fri., Aug. 31

Hopewell Theater’s One-Year Anniversary with Rogue Oliphant on Sat., Sept. 8

XPN Welcomes Jeffrey Gaines with Amy Faden on Sat., Sept. 15

XPN Welcomes Freedy Johnston on Sat., Sept. 22

The Winterpills on Sat., Oct. 6

Martin Hayes Quartet on Fri., Oct. 12
 
Rio Mira on Thurs., Oct. 18
 
XPN Welcomes Campbell Brothers on Sat., Oct. 27

WXPN Welcomes Dar Williams with Seth Glier on Thurs., Nov. 1

WXPN Welcomes Johnny Irion on Sat., Nov. 10

Heather Maloney on Nov. 16

Stephane Wrembel on Fri., Nov. 30

Band of Changes on Sat., Dec. 8

Slambovian Circus of Dreams: A Very Slambovian Christmas on Fri., Dec 21

XPN Welcomes Jill Souble on Sat., Dec. 22

 

Film

The Yogis of Tibet - FREE Screening as part of The Art of Living Well series on Thurs., Aug. 16

Monty Python Quote Along on Fri., Sept. 21

Bad Reputation (A Joan Jett Documentary) on Weds., Sept. 26

Halloween Fright Film Fest, week of Oct. 26

Red on Weds., Nov. 7

 

Comedy

The Last of the Boomers Comedy Night on Sat., Sept. 29

Mike Dugan “Men Fake Foreplay” one man show on Sat., Oc. 20

America’s Got Talent Julia Scotti stand up comedy on Fri., Nov. 23

 

Storytelling Nights:

This Really Happened on Fri., Sept. 7 with Carla Katz, Sandi Marx, Robin Bady, Jude Treder-Wolff, Ken Galipeau and Joey Novick

This Really Happened on Fri., Oct. 5 with Robin Gelfenbien, Michele Carlo, Jeff Rose, Rick Patrick, Danny Artese, Sammie James and Joey Novick

This Really Happened on Fri., Nov. 2 with Joey Novick

 

Family Programming (Films)

 

Crybaby Matinee on Thurs., Aug. 16, 2018 - Charlotte’s Web

Crybaby Matinee on Thurs., Sept. 20 - The Triplets of Belleville

Family Matinee on Sat., Sept. 29 - Pee Wee’s Big Adventure

Crybaby Matinee on Thurs., Oct. 18 - The Land Before Time

Family Matinee on Sat., Oct. 27 - Ghostbusters

Crybaby Matinee on Thurs., Nov. 15 - March of the Penguins

Family Matinee on Sat., Nov. 24 - The Goonies

 

Dining

 

Gypsy Jazz Brunch with Pyrenesia and Max Hansen buffet on Sun., Sept. 16

Gypsy Jazz Brunch with Pyrenesia and Max Hansen buffet on Sun., Oct. 21

Gypsy Jazz Brunch with Pyrenesia and Max Hansen buffet on Sun., Nov. 18

 

Community Partner Programs

 

Hopewell Valley Arts Council ArtConnect Forum on Tues., Sept. 25

Hopewell Public Library Weds. Night Out: When the Circus Came To Town - Flemington During the Lindbergh Kidnapping on Wed., Oct. 3

Hopewell Public Library Weds. Night Out: The History of Trenton’s Famous Cadwalader Park on Weds., Nov. 3

 

About Hopewell Theater

 

Hopewell Theater offers a range of unique cultural experiences, from independent film and live music to guest speakers, artists and performances. Patrons can dine-in on small plates from local restaurants or just come for the show. Film buffs will particularly enjoy a state-of-the-art movie theater in Hopewell, NJ with a dine-in menu. A landing spot, a launch pad, and an incubator, Hopewell Theater is also a place where artists can play, practice, perform or show their passion project on the big screen. The theater is available to rent, at both hourly and day-rates. 

Comments