Ryan Howard Sells Philly Home for $2.5 Million
Gloucester County Officials Investigating Apparent Suicide at Woodbury Courthouse Parking Garage

Bellmawr Police Officers Honored/Promoted

Author Anne Forline | South Jersey Observer

BELLMAWR N.J. --At its June 23, 2016 meeting, Bellmawr Council approved resolutions promoting and honoring members of the local police department.


From left: Corporal Ronald Miller, Sergeant John Marrone, Captain Scott Parker, Corporal Arty Tessier, Police Chief William Walsh, Patrolman Dean Cooney, and Lieutenant Michael Draham 

Five Promotions:

  • Scott Parker – Captain
  • Michael Draham- Lieutenant
  • John Marrone- Sergeant
  • Ronald Miller- Corporal
  • Arty Tessier- Corporal

New Officers:

  • Dean Cooney – Patrolman
  • Andrew Thomas- Class II Special Officer-Graduated from Academy in March 2016.

Chief Walsh said that Andrew was a Class I, was sent to Class II course at the Gloucester County Police Academy and graduated in March.

Proclamations Given:

For Preventing Two Individuals From Suicide:

Patrolman Jared Walton 

For Apprehending A Bank Robbery Suspect:

  • Corporal John Mader
  • Patrolman Dave Kenney
  • Patrolman Anthony Franklin
  • Patrolman Dean Cooney
  • Detective Sergeant Francesco Minardi and Sergeant David Hunt of the Barrington PD
  • Patrolman James Ervin, Jr. of the Haddonfield PD

Recognition of Service Plaques – Retirement:

Council Votes on the Police Department Promotions

When the Resolutions authorizing the promotions were brought to a vote by council, all of the Councilmen voted yes, with the exception of David Spector, who abstained from voting on Scott Parker’s appointment as Captain and Mike Draham’s appointment as Lieutenant. At Council’s June 13 special meeting,* Spector also abstained from voting on the Resolution appointing Dean Cooney as Patrolman.