Here Is California’s Economic Future After Huge Minimum Wage Hike
Bellmawr to Host Freeholder Meeting May 4

Gloucester City High School Athletic Hall of Fame Reinstated After 10 Year Hiatus | CNBNewsnet

William E. Cleary Sr. | CNBNewsnet Lions jpeg

GLOUCESTER CITY N.J.--After a gap of 10 years the Gloucester City High School Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony has been reinstated. This year’s event is set for Saturday, April 23 at the Brooklawn American Legion Hall, Railroad Ave., Brooklawn. In charge of the event is Sean Gorman, high school principal. Gorman was named principal in 2014. 

Gorman said there were 48 nominations made this year. From that list, the committee narrowed the selection to 11. The committee consist of seven members.

“All are former or present GHS coaches or athletic department members,” said Gorman. 

“As for the criteria for being elected, the committee reviews all nominations received as long as the individual or team has graduated at least 10 years ago with the intention to and challenge of electing the most outstanding of all nominations. The committee try to ensure that as many decades as possible are represented,” said Gorman

“We are proud that we have been able to rekindle this honoring. Our hope is to continue to acknowledge as many of the most outstanding student-athletes that have brought so much joy and pride to the GHS community throughout the years as possible,” Gorman said. 

The 2016 inductees include the following:

Robert Eppelman, (1951)—football, basketball (2 years), wrestling (1 year), track

Dave Light, Sr.  (1969)—football and was a long-time GHS softball coach

Hal Batdorf (1972)---football, track

Rose (Snyder) Barron (1982)---basketball, softball

Harlan “Buddy” Blackiston (1982)---basketball, baseball

Joe Shapley (1989)---basketball, baseball

Jason Chiodi (1994)---football, basketball, baseball

Kevin Boulden (1996)---football, basketball, baseball

Megan (Light) Mason (1998)---field hockey, basketball, softball

Keith Gorman (1998)---basketball

Maddy (Boulden) Meehan (2001)--field hockey, basketball, softball

(*Also shown is the year the inductee graduated and the sports they played) 


Tickets are $35 and include dinner & drinks.  Tickets must be purchased in advance by the deadline of Friday, April 8th.  They will not be sold at the door on the evening of the event.  Checks can be made out and mailed to Gloucester High School Athletic Hall of Fame, Attention: Lynda Spingler, 1300 Market Street, Gloucester City, NJ, 08030.  The event begins at 7 p.m. with a cocktail hour at 6 p.m.  Purchased tickets will be available upon arrival.

The current members of the school's Athletic Hall of Fame and their year of graduation:

 Dave Atkinson (1967)

Butch Brandt (1953)

Jack Brandt (1967)

Dennis Campise (1967)

Theresa Hatcher Carpenter (1991)

John Chiodi (1972)

Kevin Cunane (1992)

William Ellenbark (1962)

Don Finch (1969)

Miki Bailes Flowers (1968)

Laraine Stiles Flynn (1961)

Toby Frymire (1963)

Bill Grant (1966)

Joy Chamberlain Grant (1966)

Marian Brandt Hagan (1951)

Leon Harris (1950)

Leon Harris (1972)

Kristy Thorp Harper (1989)

Gus Hodson (1991)

 John Bernard Hofbauer (1942)

Neal Houser (1991)

Sharon Ashe Huegel (1988)

Fran Jannetti (1964)

Maryellen Uibel Kraft (1958)

Edward Malone (1986)

James McNally (Administrator)

Betty Miller (Coach)

Bert Raskis Nolan (1943)

Carlos Paisley (Coach)

Carmen Palmerio (1955)

John Powell (1946)

Bart Rettew (1959)

John Rieder (1953)

Larry Schemelia (1970)

Steve Shimkus (1953)

Ruth Harris Strow (1952)

Sara and Bess Taylor (Coaches)

George Thorp (1964)

Maryanne Barr Watson (1963)

Bob Weichmann (1959)

William W. Yerkes (1931)

Stacey Rettew-Young (1989)

1967 Boys State Championship Basketball Team

1971 State Champion Baseball Team