Gloucester County Law Enforcement Educational Resource Center Opens
John Patrick Cain of Runnemede, Past VFW Commander Post 3324, Former Teamster


To Hold Awards Ceremony For The African American Future Achievers Scholarship Recipients At The Crystal Plaza in Livingston, NJ


Iselin, NJ – Applications have been submitted and the 2015 scholarship recipients have been selected!
The Ronald McDonald House Charities/African American Future Achievers Scholarship (RMHC-AAFA) awards ceremony returns to the beautiful Crystal Plaza (305 West Northfield Rd. Livingston, NJ) on Tuesday, June 2, 2015 from 12:00pm to 3:00pm. This memorable ceremony will be hosted by Kareem McKenzie, two-time Super bowl Champion for the NY Giants and the official ambassador of the scholarship. The recipients were selected based on their academic achievement, financial need and community service. Scholarship eligibility required applicants to be currently enrolled high school seniors who are eligible to attend a 2-or 4-year college/university or vocational/technical school.  Applicants must have at least one parent of African American or Black Caribbean heritage; must be a legal U.S. resident; and must reside within the geographic boundaries of NYTSA Chapter. 
RMHC-AAFA has been able to transform the lives of eligible graduating high school seniors who face limited access to educational opportunities by virtue of their financial background. With its college scholarship program, the nonprofit organization assists students in their efforts to reach their educational goals and their aspirations to become leaders of tomorrow. The scholarships are distributed based on demonstrated academic achievement, financial need and community involvement.
The following (12) recipients will receive $17,000 scholarship over four (4) years in college.

                                                                         2015 RECIPIENTS 

1. Olukemi Adebanjo                        Valley StreamNY                      Valley Stream North High School
2. Sarah Bennett                                North Haledon, NJ                      Manchester Regional High School
3. Fatoumata Diallo                           Bronx, NY                                  Marble Hill School of International Studies  
4. Harold Ekeh                                   Elmont, NY                                Elmont Memorial High School     
5. Tahina Felisca                                Cambria Heights, NY                 Archbishop Molloy High School    
6. Hunter Haymore                           Jamaica, NY                                The Lowell School
7. Raquel Laguerre                           Spring Valley, NY                       Spring Valley High School
8. Sara Larosiliere                             Brooklyn, NY                             High School for Youth and Comm. Development  
9. Kwame Mavour                             Bloomfield, NJ                           Bloomfield High School    
10. Emmanuela Oppong                    Bronx, NY                                  Metropolitan Soundview High School
11. Morgan Reed                                Montclair, NJ                              Montclair High School   
12. Johny Yaccoub                             Jersey City, NJ                            McNair Academic High School
The following (2) recipients will receive $25,000 scholarship over four (4) years in college.
1. Raequan Nelson                             Newark, NJ                                 North Star Academy Charter School of Newark
2. Shadia Simms                                Mount Vernon, NY                      Nellie A. Thornton School