Your Money: Don’t Let Unexpected Costs Ruin Your Retirement

CNBNews Spotlight on NJ College Students

  6a00d8341bf7d953ef0147e27e1f4b970b-800wiWomen's Tennis Sophomore Emily Ostrander,  Named to the All-Commonwealth Conference Honorable Mention Team

 OWINGS MILLS, MD (05/13/2015)(readMedia)-- Stevenson University Sophomore, and women's tennis player, Emily Ostrander has been named to the All-Commonwealth Conference Honorable Mention Team. She is the first women's tennis player at Stevenson to earn an all-conference honor since the 2013 season.

Ostrander has had an outstanding season, leading the team with five individual victories. One of these victories including her triumph over Lancaster Bible opponent with a number 6 singles win of 6-0. She also claimed victory over Lycoming with a number 6 win of 6-1.

Congratulations Emily!

Stevenson University is a coeducational, independent institution widely known for its unique synthesis of traditional liberal arts education and exceptional career preparation. The 4,200 students receive an innovative education from the six academic schools- Business and Leadership, Design, Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, Sciences, and Graduate and Professional Studies. Each student experiences individual attention from faculty members and extensive career preparation gained through real-world training. Two ideal locations just north of Baltimore, Maryland, in Stevenson and Owings Mills, make the University truly unique.

Sewell Resident Kaylee Perron Named a Charles O. Thompson Scholar

WORCESTER, MA (05/13/2015)(readMedia)-- Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) has announced that Kaylee Perron of Sewell, N.J., a first-year student majoring in biomedical engineering, has been named a Charles O. Thompson Scholar for the 2014-15 academic year.

Named in honor of the first president of WPI, this honor recognizes outstanding performance by first-year students. To be eligible for membership, students must achieve all A's and B's (with a minimum of six A's) in their academic subjects during their first three terms at WPI.

Nearly 3,000 degrees awarded during UNL commencement exercises

 LINCOLN, NE (05/12/2015)(readMedia)-- Nearly 3,000 degrees were awarded during commencement exercises May 8 and 9 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Patricia Crews, Willa Cather Professor of Textiles, Merchandising and Fashion Design and founding director of the International Quilt Student Center and Museum, gave the address at the May 8 graduate degree ceremony at Pinnacle Bank Arena, 400 Pinnacle Arena Drive; Barbara Hendricks, opera singer and UNL alumna, delivered the address at the undergraduate ceremony May 9 at Pinnacle Bank Arena; and Robert F. Kennedy Jr., author and environmental attorney, addressed law graduates May 9 in a ceremony at the Lied Center for Performing Arts, 301 N. 12th St.

The graduates were from 39 states and 28 countries. For a complete list of graduates, go to

Turnersville: Philip Weston Claghorn , College of Architecture, bachelor of science in design

 Medford: Robert John Crawford , Graduate Studies, master of business administration

Mustangs Inducted Into National Residence Hall Honorary

 OWINGS MILLS, MD (05/13/2015)(readMedia)-- Multiple Stevenson students are named as 2015 NRHH Inductees, as well as presented with yearly honors.

Dondre' Brown of Somers Point (08244)

Nicolette Stoner of Mount Laurel (08054)

In order for a student to be inducted, they must have a minimum GPA of 3.0, have lived on-campus for at least one semester, and have demonstrated leadership and service for the residential and Stevenson community.

During the Banquet awards were presented to the following outstanding Resident Assistants: Malik Naanaa was named Resident Assistant of the Year, Tyler Rutherford was named Returning Resident Assistant of the Year, Andrew McGregor was named Senior Residence Assistant of the Year, and Erica Hatcher was named as the Unsung Hero.

It was during the Induction Ceremony that Nicolette Stoner and Tara Shishmanian were awarded with Outstanding Leadership Pins. This is the highest honor an individual NRHH member can earn, recognizing those who have provided excellent service and leadership to their NRHH chapter.

The following Resident Assistants were named as the 2015 NRHH inductees during the ceremony: Shannon Burt, Julia Cooke, Valerie De Mateo, Gerald Foster, Kaitlin Kirkwood, Ashley Koepping, Claudia Lohr, Courtney Parto, Alexandra Porte, Emily Rosenthal, Arwa Salhab, Gregory St. Clair, Emilee Thursby, Christopher Toth.

 The NRHH members who will be graduating this spring were also recognized: David Josh Allison, Christopher Ambrose, Jenifer Antonelli, Dondre Brown, Susana Cintron, Andrew Dangin, Eboni Harris, Tara Shishmanian, Lauren Speiser, Nicolette Stoner, Jamal Williams, Wally Ann Wiscovitch, Kadeem Wyllie.

Local students elected to Phi Beta Kappa at TCNJ

 EWING, NJ (05/12/2015)(readMedia)-- TCNJ faculty and staff members have elected 92 students into the college's chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest academic honor society. Students from the area include:

Albert Cavallaro of Collingswood, NJ

Erika Cepurneac of Burlington, NJ

Andrew Glass of Voorhees, NJ

Brandon Gottlob of Voorhees, NJ

Elizabeth Johnson of Lumberton, NJ

Vincent Longo of Somerdale, NJ

Amanda Mastronardi of Mullica Hill, NJ

Luke Pasick of Wall, NJ

Steven Schwering of Palmyra, NJ

Rebecca Shaber of Linwood, NJ

Elizabeth Wimberg of Galloway, NJ

 Phi Beta Kappa is the nation's oldest academic honor society, founded by five students at the College of William and Mary in 1776 during the American Revolution. There are only 283 Phi Beta Kappa chapters in the country, and TCNJ's chapter is one of only four in the state of New Jersey.

Katie Transue receives Grand Prize honor from National Broadcasting Society

 MARIETTA, OH (05/12/2015)(readMedia)-- Marietta College's Katie Transue of Egg Harbor Township, NJ, was part of a team of college television (WCMO-TV) students who recently won the Grand Prize honor from the National Broadcasting Society.

Marietta won in the undergraduate electronic media competition for their election coverage in the fall, which included a debate between Congressman Bill Johnson and challenger Jennifer Garrison.

"We knew ahead of time that C-Span wanted our debate program to run on its network. So, the pressure was even higher than usual to produce as flawless of a program as possible," said Marilee Morrow, Associate Professor of Media Studies. "Each year, there is a lot of planning that goes into producing these debates and the other election programs we usually do like live election night coverage and election preview talk shows. This planning is crucial because a lot has to happen in just a few weeks. As as result, election season can be exhausting and seem thankless."

 Transue is majoring in Broadcasting and is expected to graduate in May of 2016. Transue is a graduate of Egg Harbor Township High School.