Three Camden City Residents Charged In Conspiracy To Steal Checks From Mail
Ending the Long March of Madness

Minnesota State-Mankato Wins WCHA Title and Famed Broadmoor Trophy |


Photo by Lars Hjelmroth, Rolco Sports Network

 Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids, Michigan hosted the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Final Five Tournament won by Minnesota State-Mankato over Ferris State, 4-1.  It was the last tournament directed by retiring WCHA commissioner, Bruce McCloud.    


By Raymond Rolak

Special for

 2014 NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Brackets Set


GRAND RAPIDS--  Minnesota State-Mankato won their first ever Western Collegiate Hockey Icehockey_m-DIConference title at the Van Andel Arena over Ferris State 4-1.  The Mavericks were presented the storied Broadmoor Trophy from retiring Commissioner Bruce McCloud.  

Minnesota State, freshman, goalie Cole Huggins was named tournament MVP.  He had 25 saves in the championship game.  Teddy Blueger, Bryce Gervais and Brett Stern, were other Mavericks that were named to the all-tournament team.

MSU ran its winning streak to 13 games and stands at 26-13-1 on the year.  Ferris falls to 28-10-3.  Both teams qualified for the 2014 NCAA ‘Frozen Four’.  

In the inaugural Big Ten Tournament at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minnesota, Wisconsin beat Ohio State 5-4 in overtime.  Mark Zengerle had a rebound goal for the Badgers. 

“These are good lessons to put in their hip pocket as we continue to go into next weekend, because the games are all going to be pretty much similar to this,” said Badgers coach Mike Eaves.  Minnesota and Wisconsin both qualified for the NCAA ‘Frozen Four’.  The Big Ten tourney will be at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit in 2015.

The Division I - Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2014 Division I - Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site.  The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four.  The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.  

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of the six conferences.  The remainder of the field is selected at large.

Minnesota was the No. 1 overall seed.  The other No. 1 seeds, in order, included Boston College, Union (N.Y.) and Wisconsin.


East Regional, March 28-29

Webster Bank Arena, Bridgeport, Conn.

March 28, 2 p.m. ET, No. 1 Union (N.Y.) (28-6-4) vs. No. 4 Vermont (20-14-3)

March 28, 5:30 p.m. ET, No. 2 Quinnipiac (24-9-6) vs. No. 3 Providence (21-10-6)

March 29, 3 p.m. ET, East Regional Championship


Midwest Regional, March 28-29

U.S. Bank Arena, Cincinnati, Ohio

March 28, 4:30 p.m. ET, No. 2 Ferris State (28-10-3) vs. No. 3 Colgate (20-13-5)

March 28, 8 p.m. ET, No. 1 Wisconsin (24-10-2) vs. No. 4 North Dakota (23-13-3)

March 29, 6:30 p.m. ET, Midwest Regional Championship


Northeast Regional, March 29-30

DCU Center, Worcester, Mass.

March 29, 4 p.m. ET, No. 1 Boston College (26-7-4) vs. No. 4 Denver (20-15-6)

March 29, 7:30 p.m. No. 2 Massachusetts-Lowell (25-10-4) vs. No. 3 Minnesota State-Mankato (26-13-1)

March 30, 5 p.m. ET, Northeast Regional Championship


West Regional, March 29-30

Xcel Energy Center, Saint Paul, Minn.

March 29, 5:30 p.m. ET, No. 1 Minnesota (25-6-6) vs. No. 4 Robert Morris (19-17-5) Buckleuplogo

March 29, 9 p.m. ET, No. 2 Notre Dame (23-14-2) vs. No. 3 St. Cloud State (21-10-5)

March 30, 7:30 p.m. ET, West Regional Championship



Enhanced by Zemanta