Armed Robbery of Sovereign Bank Branch in Cheltenham Township
Rams 10 St. Joes 0

Regional fields announced as countdown begins to College World Series

May 27, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS — The field of 64 teams competing for the 2013 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced Monday by the DI baseball committee.

The national top eight seeds are North Carolina (52-8), Vanderbilt (51-9), Oregon State (45-10), LSU (52-9), Cal State Fullerton (48-8), Virginia (47-10), Florida State (44-15) and Oregon (45-14).

The Southeastern Conference led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with nine, while the Atlantic Coast Conference has eight. The Pac-12 and Sun Belt conferences have four.

Making the tournament for the first time include: Bryant of the Northeast Conference, Canisius of the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference, Central Arkansas of the Southland Conference, Savannah State of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference and South Dakota State of the Summit Conference. Overall, 31 of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Miami (Fla.) is in the field for the 41st consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 36th consecutive appearance, second all time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (22), Rice (19) and South Carolina (14).

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted May 31-June 3 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced at 11 p.m. ET June 3.

The 67th Men’s College World Series begins June 15 at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.

Southeastern 9 Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, LSU, Mississippi State, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt
Atlantic Coast 8 Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (Fla.), North Carolina, NC State, Virginia, Va. Tech
Pac-12 4 Arizona State, Oregon, Oregon State, UCLA
Sun Belt 4 Florida Atlantic, La.-Lafayette, South Alabama, Troy
Big 12 3 Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State
Big West 3 Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, UC-Santa Barbara
Colonial 3 Towson, UNC Wilmington, William & Mary
Atlantic Sun 2 East Tennessee State, Mercer
Big East 2 Connecticut, Louisville
Big South 2 Coastal Carolina, Liberty
Big Ten 2 Illinois, Indiana
Mountain West 2 New Mexico, San Diego State
Southland 2 Central Arkansas, Sam Houston State
West Coast 2 San Diego, San Francisco
America East 1 Binghamton
Atlantic-10 1 Saint Louis
Conference USA 1 Rice
Horizon 1 Valparaiso
Ivy 1 Columbia
Metro Atlantic 1 Canisius
Mid-American 1 Bowling Green
Mid-Eastern 1 Savannah State
Missouri Valley 1 Wichita State
Northeast 1 Bryant
Ohio Valley 1 Austin Peay
Patriot 1 Army
Southern 1 Elon
Southwestern 1 Jackson State
Summit 1 South Dakota State
Western Athletic 1 Texas-San Antonio