Penn Medicine's New Center For Personalized Diagnostics Unlocks Cancer's Secrets

Super Bowl Lanes in Canton, MI - April 11-13


by Raymond Rolak
special to CNBNEWS
The University of Detroit-Mercy along with the Detroit Sports Commission will host the 2013 NCAA Women’s 2013-NCAA-Bowling-Womens-Canton-MI Bowling Championships April 11-13, at Super Bowl Lanes in Canton, Michigan.  Featured will be the top eight teams from NCAA institutions that sponsor bowling as a varsity sport.
It will be the second time in three years that Detroit has hosted the NCAA Women’s Bowling Championships. “The Detroit Sports Commission is pleased to again host the National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship,” said Dave Beachnau, DSC executive director. He added, “Our strong relationship with the NCAA, along with the tremendous support of the University of Detroit-Mercy and Detroit’s history as bowling capital of the world lends to the success for this event.”
The eight-team field competing for the 2013 National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship as announced by the NCAA Women’s Bowling Committee includes the following teams, all selected at large: Arkansas State University; University of Central Missouri; Fairleigh Dickinson University; University of Maryland Eastern Shore; University of Nebraska; Sam Houston State University; Vanderbilt University and University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.
Maryland-Eastern Shore won its second consecutive National Collegiate Women’s Bowling Championship in 2012 at Freeway Lanes in Wickliffe, Ohio defeating Fairleigh Dickinson in six games, winning the final game 2013-ncaa_bowling-logo203-176. With the victory, Maryland Eastern Shore became the first team since 2004-05 to win back-to-back national titles.
Several local student-athletes will compete for their teams: Sarah Lokker, New Baltimore (Anchor Bay HS) from Arkansas State; Kara Richard, Tecumseh (Tecumseh HS) of Central Missouri; Kelsey Smith, Grand Blanc (Grand Blanc HS) and Erin Brown, Davison (Davison HS) from Sam Houston State; Olivia Wirtz, Battle Creek (Pennfield HS) and Tori Ferris, Kalamazoo (Portage Central HS) of Vanderbilt.
The championship finals will air on ESPNU Saturday, April 13 at 8 p.m. Eastern Time.  Tickets can be purchased on

Editor’s Note:  Raymond Rolak is a veteran sports broadcaster who narrated the 1987 award winning television special, “The Hobey Baker Story” featuring Tony Hrkac. He is a regular contributor to


 related: Sports by Raymond Rolak