The New Jersey Home Improvement Contractors Registration Act requires all contractors conducting business in this state to be registered with the State Office of Consumer Affairs. Existing home contractors should have been registered by December 31, 2005 and must renew their 90 dollar registration annually.
Home Improvement (TV series) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Freeholder Director Robert Damminger said “The office of Consumer Affairs has fairly warned home improvement contractors in our county to get registered and comply with state law as others have, but we continue to see a lot of them who either don’t get registered, or have not published their registration numbers according to state law.”
Any contractor can go to the state web-site and download an application and can renew online at www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/HIC or call 1-800-242-5846.
“The county takes the protection of its consumers seriously. Home contractors doing business here need to know that we are aggressive about pursuing unregistered contractors, including those who are not displaying their registration numbers properly. Working as an unregistered home contractor is a fourth degree crime.”
Fines for working in the home remodeling business and not being registered can be as high as $10,000 for the first offense and $20,000 for each subsequent offense, or jail time if the crime is egregious enough as determined by the County Prosecutor.
The County Office of Consumer Affairs advises that if you have received a warning summons on your vehicle, you must respond to the division within (30) days. For any questions regarding the requirements of the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act, please contact the office at 856-384-6855.