William L. Rebstock, age 53, of Gloucester City; Funeral Services Sunday & Monday-cnbnews.net
Camden FOP President Williamson releases statement to Freeholder Cappelli-cnbnews.net

College Sports: ECAC Division III Baseball All-Star Team-cnbnews.net

Kean Claims Two Major Awards for ECAC Metro Baseball


CENTERVILLE, Mass.—The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) on Wednesday announced its Division III Baseball Metro All-Star Team.

Receiving individual awards, pictured left to right, Juan Ranero of Rowan University is the ECAC Coach of the Year, juniors Lee Cavico and Mike Russo of Kean University are the ECAC Player and Pitcher of the Year, respectively, and Joseph Falcone from the College of Staten Island is the ECAC Rookie of the Year.  

Cavico, a first baseman, earned a slew of honors in 2011: ABCA Mid-Atlantic Region First Team, New Jersey Athletic Conference Player of the Year and first-team all-conference, NJCBA Division II/III First-Team, NCAA World Series All-Tournament Team and NCAA Mid-Atlantic Regional Most Outstanding Player. He led the Cougars with 48 runs scored and ranked second on the team in batting average (.356), hits (68), home runs (9) and runs batted in (48).

Kean teammate Russo was a second-team All-America choice by ABCA/Rawlings and D3baseball.com, as well as the NJAC Pitcher of the Year and NJCBA Division II/III Pitcher of the Year. The right-hander also placed on the first teams of the ABCA Mid-Atlantic Region and NJAC after posting a school-record 10-2 slate. Opponents batted just .190 against him and he had a 1.93 earned-run average.

Falcone, a right fielder, led the Dolphins with a .504 slugging percentage to go along with a .336 batting average and 12 extra-base hits. Ranked second on the team with 29 RBI, the freshman came through in the clutch as 11 of his RBI came with two outs. He was also named the rookie of the year by his primary conference, the City University of New York Athletic Conference.

Coach Ranero led Rowan to a 31-13-1 record, the New Jersey Athletic Conference (NJAC) Championship Tournament and its second straight appearance in the NCAA Division III Championship this spring. Ranero has been selected the NJAC Coach of the Year three times during his 11 years at the helm.

The head coaches, or his/her designee, within the ECAC membership voted on the teams and individual awards.

2011 ECAC Division III Baseball Metro All-Stars

Player of the Year
Lee Cavico, Jr., 1B, Kean (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Pitcher of the Year
Mike Russo, Jr., Kean (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Rookie of the Year
Joseph Falcone, OF, College of Staten Island (City University of New York Athletic Conf.)

Coach of the Year
Juan Ranero, Rowan (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

First Base: Lee Cavico, Jr., Kean (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Second Base: Dennis Nover, Jr., Saint Joseph's-Long Island (Skyline Conference)

Shortstop: Melvin Simmons, Sr., Old Westbury (Skyline Conference)

Third Base: Christian Spurr, So., Ramapo (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Catcher: Anthony Orsano, Jr., Old Westbury (Skyline Conference)

Designated Hitter: Josef Schaetzle, Sr., Old Westbury (Skyline Conference)

Outfield: Ken Gregory, Sr., Kean (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Outfield: Austin Groves, Sr., Purchase (Skyline Conference)

Outfield: Michael Murphy, So., College of New Jersey (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Utility: Kevin Knox, Jr., Ramapo (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Pitcher: Mike Russo, Jr., Kean (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Pitcher: Mike Swietanski, Sr., Rowan (New Jersey Athletic Conference)

Enhanced by Zemanta